Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

The IAB brain-drain data

The IAB data on international migration cover information for 20 OECD destination countries by gender, country of origin and educational level, for the years 1980-2010 (5 years intervals).

The data contain three major files:

  • IAB brain-drain dataset: Contains data on the total number of foreign-born individuals aged 25 years and older, living in each of the 20 considered OECD destination countries, by year, gender, country of origin and educational level. Educational levels are distinguished in low, medium and high skilled.
  • Migration by gender: Total number of foreign-born individual (all age groups as a whole), living in each of the 20 considered OECD destination countries, by gender and country of origin.
  • Emigration rates: Proportion of migrants over the pre-migration population (defined as the sum of residents and migrants in each source country), by gender, skill level and year. Age group: 25 years and older.

General information

The IAB data collection on international migration has been carried out within the framework of the TEMPO project (TEmporary Migration, integration and the role of POlicies), a European project financed by NORFACE (New Opportunities for Research Funding Agency Co-operation in Europe), a partnership of 15 research councils established to increase cooperation in research and research policy in Europe. The project has the goal of extend the knowledge of the causes and consequences of international migration with particular focus on themes like temporary migration, migrants’ integration, and migration policies.

The IAB has been in charge of building a macro-dataset on international migration to 20 OECD destination countries by gender, country of origin and educational level, for the years 1980-2010 (5 years intervals). The above data collection has been carried out in cooperation with Abdeslam Marfouk (ULB, Brussels).

Sources

The figures provided in the dataset are aggregates computed from Census data of 20 OECD destination countries: Australia, Austria, Canada, Chile, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, and United States.

Methodology

The methodology used to collect and harmonize the data as well as to compute the emigration rates is summarized in the following note:

Methodological note

Contents

Brain-drain data
Contains data on the total number of foreign-born individuals aged 25 years and older, living in each of the 20 considered OECD destination countries, by year, gender, country of origin and educational level. Educational levels are distinguished in low, medium and high skilled.

Data in Excel format
Data in Stata format

Migration by gender
Total number of foreign-born individual (all age groups as a whole), living in each of the 20 considered OECD destination countries, by gender and country of origin.

Data in Excel format
Data in Stata format

Emigration rates
Proportion of migrants over the pre-migration population (defined as the sum of residents and migrants in each source country), by gender, skill level and year. Age group: 25 years and older.

Data in Excel format
Data in Stata format

How to cite

Brücker H., Capuano, S. and Marfouk, A. (2013). Education, gender and international migration: insights from a panel-dataset 1980-2010, mimeo.

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.

Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Die IAB brain-drain Daten

Die IAB brain-drain Daten zur internationalen Migration enthalten Informationen für 20 OECD-Zielländer nach Geschlecht, Herkunftsland und Bildungsstand, für die Jahre 1980 bis 2010 (5-Jahres-Intervalle).

Die Daten umfassen drei Datensätze:

  • IAB brain-drain Datensatz:
    Die Daten umfassen die Gesamtzahl der im Ausland geborenen Personen im Alter von 25 und mehr, die im einem der 20 OECD-Zielländer leben, nach Jahr, Geschlecht, Herkunftsland und Bildungsstand. Das Bildungsniveau wird in niedrig, mittel und hoch qualifiziert unterschieden.
  • Migration nach Geschlecht:
    Anzahl der im Ausland geborenen Personen (alle Altersgruppen), die im einem der 20 OECD-Zielländer leben, nach Geschlecht und Herkunftsland.
  • Auswanderungsraten:
    Anteil der Migranten an der Prä-Migrationsbevölkerung (definiert als die Summe der Einwohner und Migranten im Herkunftsland), nach Geschlecht, Bildungsstand und Jahr. Altersgruppe: 25 Jahre und älter.

Allgemeine Informationen

Die IAB Datenerhebung zur internationalen Migration wurde im Rahmen des TEMPO Projekts (TEmporary Migration, integration and the role of POlicies) durchgeführt. Das Projekt wurde von NORFACE (New Opportunities for Research Funding Agency Co-operation in Europe) finanziert. Hierbei handelt es sich um einen europäischen Zusammenschluss von 15 Forschungseinrichtungen mit dem Ziel das Wissen über die Ursachen und Wirkungen der internationalen Migration zu erweitern. Spezielle Schwerpunkte enthalten Forschung zur temporären Migration, Integration von Migranten und Migrationspolitik.

Das IAB war verantwortlich für den Aufbau eines Makrodatensatzes zur internationalen Migration für 20 OECD-Zielländer nach Geschlecht, Herkunftsland und Bildungsstand, für die Jahre 1980 bis 2010 (5-Jahres-Intervalle). Die oben genannte Datenerhebung wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Abdeslam Marfouk (ULB, Brüssel) durchgeführt.

Quellen

Die in den Datensätzen bereitgestellten Informationen beziehen sich auf aggregierte Zensusinformationen der 20 OECD-Zielländer: Australien, Österreich, Kanada, Chile, Dänemark, Finnland, Frankreich, Deutschland, Griechenland, Irland, Luxemburg, Niederlande, Neuseeland, Norwegen, Portugal, Spanien , Schweden, Schweiz, Großbritannien und den USA.

Methodik

Die Methoden, welche bei der Datensammlung, der Harmonisierung der Daten und bei der Berechnung der Auswanderungsraten verwendet wurden sind in folgendem Bericht zusammengefasst:

Methodische Hinweise

Daten

Brain-drain Daten
Die Daten umfassen die Gesamtzahl der im Ausland geborenen Personen im Alter von 25 und mehr, die im einem der 20 OECD-Zielländer leben, nach Jahr, Geschlecht, Herkunftsland und Bildungsstand. Das Bildungsniveau wird in niedrig, mittel und hoch qualifiziert unterschieden.

Daten im Excel-Format
Daten im Stata-Format

Migration nach Geschlecht
Anzahl der im Ausland geborenen Personen (alle Altersgruppen), die im einem der 20 OECD-Zielländer leben, nach Geschlecht und Herkunftsland.

Daten im Excel-Format
Daten im Stata-Format

Auswanderungsraten
Anteil der Migranten an der Prä-Migrationsbevölkerung (definiert als die Summe der Einwohner und Migranten im Herkunftsland), nach Geschlecht, Bildungsstand und Jahr. Altersgruppe: 25 Jahre und älter.

Daten im Excel-Format
Daten im Stata-Format

Zitierweise

Brücker H., Capuano, S. and Marfouk, A. (2013). Education, gender and international migration: insights from a panel-dataset 1980-2010, mimeo.

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.