Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Hauptnavigation.


Zertifikat "audit berufundfamilie"


Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Questions and answers about the IAB Establishment Panel

What is the IAB Establishment Panel?

The IAB Establishment Panel is an annual survey of the same establishments in Germany repeated every year. The panel study originally commenced in 1993 in western Germany and was extended to the New Federal States in 1996. Establishments in all branches and of all sizes with least one employee covered by social security are surveyed.

Which establishments are surveyed?

The establishments are selected at random from the process data of the Federal Employment Agency which contains roughly 2 million employers. This employer databank is derived from the data set containing statistics on employees, in which employers register all employees covered by social security under the code number of their establishment. For selection of the random sample, groups of economic branches are combined into 17 overall branches (up to 1999 there were 16 branches, after that 20, and since 2005 17) and the size of the establishments into 10 categories.

How many establishments are surveyed? (Extent of the survey)

Through the financial participation of the eastern German states since 1996 and the western German states as of 2000 it has been possible to increase the samples to allow for regional evaluations at the level of the federal state. Close to 16,000 employers are surveyed in Germany each year.

Who is the survey conducted by?

The interviews at the individual establishments are carried out by Kantar Public Germany (formerly: TNS Infratest Sozialforschung), Munich, on behalf of the Federal Employment Agency. To this end, Kantar Public Germany employs specially trained interviewers. In the New Federal States, the survey institute works together with SÖSTRA, Berlin, in order to take the special features of the New Federal States into account during the survey.

What questions are asked?

This survey of establishments is not only aimed at taking stock of structures, situations and the background to problems in the establishments but also at assessing morale and the expectations for the future currently held by the establishments. A widely varied spectrum of questions is used to gather the following information on establishments:

  • Parameters of developments in employment (production, turnover, working hours, investment, capacity utilisation)
  • Demand for personnel and labour expectations (vacancies, open positions, fluctuations, establishment employment policies)
  • Status of and developments in technology and organisation, as well as their effects on jobs
  • Determinants of productivity, e.g. technical, organisational and economic factors
  • Data on the development of the establishment
  • Utilisation of employment promotion measures
  • Training and further training activities.

The questionnaire is revised each year and supplemented by questions of current relevance.

How is protection of data ensured?

All data are collected, processed and anonymized by Kantar Public Germany, Munich. This means that no one can see which establishment the data came from. To do this, Infratest separates the address from the data and gives it a code number. The data are then converted into figures and stored on the data carrier without a name and address. In this way, it is not possible to link either the data or the results to a particular establishment that has been surveyed.

Who evaluates the results of the survey?

The data are primarily evaluated by the Institute for Employment Research with regard to the requirements of the Federal Employment Agency. The ministries of the Federal States that cooperate with IAB have commissioned several research institutes to conduct regional evaluations. These institutes only have access to the data from their own state and not to those of other federal states. All institutes involved are responsible for legal data security and work in accordance with legal regulations pertaining to data protection.

Who is interested in the results?

Realistic studies can only be carried out – and timely policy recommendations made available to politicians – if data is both valid and reliable. The insights gained from the information on individual establishments also contribute to the decision-making of management/labour representatives, and various associations.

The Federal Employment Agency is obligated to offer advice on the labour market and to undertake labour market and occupational research. To contribute to this – and as a representative, establishment-based monitoring system – the IAB Establishment Panel provides information on the parameters of employment within the establishments themselves. The insights gained are intended to help optimize the processing of tasks at the employment agencies and the Regional Directorates in a manner that is fair to clients.

The establishments themselves can use the results of the IAB Establishment Panel in the sense of benchmarking as these provide information about how one's own establishment compares to others in the same branch or of the same size.

At the same time, the scientific community as a whole is particularly interested in the IAB Establishment Panel because it constitutes, for the first time, a data set representative of the economy as a whole through which research on the demand side of the labour market can be conducted.

To top

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.

Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Fragen und Antworten zum IAB-Betriebspanel

Was ist das IAB-Betriebspanel?

Das IAB-Betriebspanel ist eine jährliche Wiederholungsbefragung bei stets denselben Betrieben in Deutschland. Das Panel startete zuerst im Jahr 1993 in Westdeutschland und wurde 1996 auch auf die neuen Bundesländer ausgeweitet. Befragt werden Betriebe in allen Branchen und aller Größen mit mindestens einem sozialversicherungspflichtigen Beschäftigten.

nach oben

Welche Betriebe werden befragt?

Die Betriebe werden in einer Zufallsstichprobe aus der Betriebsdatei der Bundesagentur für Arbeit gezogen, die rund 2 Millionen Betriebe enthält. Diese Betriebsdatei entsteht aus der Beschäftigungsstatistik, zu der Arbeitgeber alle sozialversicherungspflichtigen Beschäftigten unter der Nummer ihres Betriebes melden. Für die Stichprobenziehung werden die Wirtschaftszweige aktuell zu 19 Branchengruppen und die Betriebsgrößen zu 10 Klassen zusammengefasst.

nach oben  

Wie viele Betriebe werden befragt? (Umfang der Befragung)

Durch eine finanzielle Beteiligung der ostdeutschen Bundesländer seit 1996 und der westdeutschen Bundesländer seit 2000 konnten die Stichproben so weit aufgestockt werden, dass auch regionale Auswertungen auf Bundeslandsebene möglich sind. Jährlich werden knapp 16.000 Betriebe in Deutschland befragt.

nach oben

Wer führt die Befragung durch?

Im Auftrag der Bundesagentur für Arbeit werden die Interviews bei den Betrieben von Kantar Public Deutschland (ehemals: TNS Infratest Sozialforschung) , München durchgeführt. Dafür setzt Kantar Public Deutschland besonders geschulte Interviewer ein. In den neuen Bundesländern arbeitet das Erhebungsinstitut mit SÖSTRA, Berlin zusammen, um die Besonderheiten der neuen Bundesländer in der Befragung zu berücksichtigen.

Ansprechpartner bei Kantar Public Deutschland: Sebastian Bechmann

nach oben

Was wird gefragt?

Mit dieser Betriebsbefragung wird nicht nur eine Bestandsaufnahme betrieblicher Strukturen, Situationen und Problemzusammenhänge vorgenommen, sondern überdies werden Stimmungslagen und zukünftige Einschätzungen der Betriebe eingefangen. Mit dem breit gefächerten Spektrum an Fragen werden folgende betriebliche Informationen erfasst:

  • Bestimmungsgrößen der Beschäftigungsentwicklung (Produktion, Umsatz, Arbeitszeiten, Investitionen, Auslastung)
  • Personalnachfrage und Beschäftigungserwartungen (Vakanzen, offene Stellen, Fluktuation, betriebliche Beschäftigungspolitik)
  • Stand und Entwicklung der Technik und Organisation sowie deren Auswirkungen auf Arbeitsplätze
  • Einflussgrößen auf die Produktivität, z.B. technische, organisatorische und betriebswirtschaftliche Faktoren
  • Daten zur Biografie von Betrieben
  • Inanspruchnahme von Fördermaßnahmen
  • Aktivitäten in der Aus- und Weiterbildung

Der Fragebogen wird jährlich überarbeitet und um jeweils aktuelle Fragen ergänzt.

nach oben

Wie ist der Datenschutz geregelt?

Sämtliche Daten werden bei Kantar Public Deutschland, München erfasst, aufbereitet und anonymisiert. Das bedeutet, niemand kann aus den Daten erkennen, von welchem Betrieb die Angaben stammen. Zu diesem Zweck wird bei Infratest die Adresse durch eine laufende Nummer ersetzt und die Adresse anschließend von den Daten getrennt. Die Angaben aus dem Fragebogen werden in Zahlen umgesetzt und ohne Namen und Adresse auf einen Datenträger gespeichert. Weder aus den Daten noch aus den Ergebnissen sind Rückschlüsse auf den befragten Betrieb möglich.

nach oben

Wer wertet die Befragungsergebnisse aus?

In erster Linie werden die Daten vom Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung im Hinblick auf die Belange der Bundesagentur für Arbeit ausgewertet. Für die regionalen Auswertungen haben die Ministerien der Bundesländer, die mit dem IAB kooperieren, eigene Forschungsinstitute beauftragt. Diese Institute haben lediglich Zugang zu den Daten aus dem eigenen Bundesland, nicht jedoch zu den Daten anderer Bundesländer. Alle beteiligten Institute tragen die datenschutzrechtliche Verantwortung und arbeiten nach den gesetzlichen Bestimmungen zum Datenschutz.

nach oben

Wer ist an den Ergebnissen interessiert?

Nur auf der Grundlage gültiger und verlässlicher Daten können realitätsgerechte Untersuchungen durchgeführt werden und frühzeitig Handlungsempfehlungen für die Politik gegeben werden. Die auf der Basis von betrieblichen Informationen gewonnenen Erkenntnisse tragen auch zur Entscheidungsfindung der Tarifparteien und von Verbänden bei.

Die Bundesagentur für Arbeit ist zur Arbeitsmarktberatung und zur Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung verpflichtet. Dazu liefert das IAB-Betriebspanel als repräsentatives, betriebsgestütztes Beobachtungssystem Informationen über Bestimmungsgründe der betrieblichen Beschäftigung. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse sollen helfen, die kundengerechte Aufgabenerledigung in den Agenturen für Arbeit und Regionaldirektionen zu optimieren.

Betriebe können die Ergebnisse aus dem IAB-Betriebspanel im Sinne eines Benchmarking nutzen, denn sie geben Auskunft darüber, wie sich der eigene Betrieb im Vergleich zu anderen Betrieben seiner Branche oder Größe einordnet.

Die Wissenschaft ist am IAB-Betriebspanel besonders interessiert, weil es sich hierbei erstmals um einen für die gesamte Wirtschaft repräsentativen Datensatz zur Erforschung der Nachfrageseite des Arbeitsmarktes handelt.

nach oben

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.